The Replacements’ ‘Songs For Slim’ EP to Impact Radio This Spring

Great news, The Replacements are releasing their first record in over 20 years this spring, and it’ll be arriving at a radio station near you!

Their upcoming release entitled Songs For Slim is a five song EP, recorded last September after their guitarist Slim Dunlap suffered debilitating stroke. The release marks the Minneapolis band’s first release since 1990’s All Shook Down (Sire Records), and reunites all three original members including lead singer/guitarist Paul Westerberg, bassist Tommy Stinson, and drummer Chris Mars.

The recording project began in September 2012 with Paul and Tommy reuniting to record a cover of Slim Dunlap’s “Busted Up” – it went so well that they decided to record a few more numbers including Leon Payne’s (by way of Hank Williams) “Lost Highway,” Gordon Lightfoot’s (by way of Nico) “I’m Not Sayin’,” and “Everything’s Coming Up Roses” from the Broadway show Gypsy, and make it a full band affair for “Radio Hook Word Hit” by bringing Chris Mars in for the song. Original Replacements drummer Chris Mars had already recorded a scorching one-man-band version of Slim’s “Radio Hook Word Hit,” and all 5 tracks were combined onto this EP. Needless to say, we are stoked about this!

To raise awareness for Slim’s condition, the Songs For Slim series kicked off this week, auctioning off 250 signed vinyl copies from the band. The auction, which ends this Friday, can be found here:

The EP will then be available worldwide for purchase digitally on March 5, 2013, followed by a 12″ pressing of the EP (available April 16 on New West) that will be available in most record stores. The Replacements EP is the first in a series of limited edition 7″ vinyl with artists covering Slim Dunlap’s solo material—including Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, Jakob Dylan, John Doe, Joe Henry and more—with all singles to be auctioned as well.

Comments Off Short URL

Comments are closed.